Palestinian hospitality – home cooked food in Beit Surik

Image

Lots of oranges ready to be pressed into fresh juice. I had 3 glasses! A kilo of oranges in Palestine only costs about 10 shekels, around £1.75.

Image

Delightful meal of fish lemon potato soup. I had to eat half of fish in this bowl in an effort not to offend our Palestinian hosts! Palestinians like to feed you- doesn’t matter if the last time you ate was only a couple hours ago!Image

This is lunch at another family home in Beit Surik. Being the only one eating the chicken and rice dish as well as lentil soup I was really up against it this time. Luckily I was hungry and soldiered through until I had made a respectable dent (about half the chicken dish, a bowl of soup one of the small bowls of yoghurt!) 

Image

This is ‘waraq dawaali’ (rolled vine leaves stuffed with rice and sometimes meat) a perennial Palestinian favourite. It’s very delicious, but you have to be quick; it doesn’t taste as good once it’s no longer hot. Again I had to demolish about half the plate (being kindly instructed to ‘complete’ but had to stop when I physically couldn’t eat any more without being ill!

Leave a comment